Weekly Photo Challenge – Arranged


When I was child….I used to sit in front of the train station, my eyes just looked down….not for the train but for the Railroad. My question  that time was…”how the people arrange such wooden rail rod between two parallel steels of rail track?” and “how the people put that so much rocks and arrange them among the rods for a hundred or even thousand miles away?”. And I was wondering where all the railroad end.

Many people have a impression of the railroads that comes from the 1800s. We imagine hundreds or thousands of men building railroad tracks using hand-carried wooden railroad ties and hammers. And yet I’m still amazed how the human arranged all of the rail tracks into one system, connecting cities, islands and even countries.

The railroad track is miles away,
And the day is loud with voices speaking,
Yet there isn’t a train goes by all day
But I hear its whistle shrieking.

All night there isn’t a train goes by,
Though the night is still for sleep and dreaming,
But I see its cinders red on the sky,
And hear its engine steaming.

My heart is warm with the friends I make,

And better friends I’ll not be knowing;

Yet there isn’t a train I wouldn’t take,

No matter where it’s going.

by Edna St. Vincent Millay

20 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Arranged

  1. Beautiful poetry and images. Like you, I like railroad. They represent a very important aspect of our history and way of life. The boy walking gives a sense of joy, hope, peace. Thanks.

  2. These tracks bring back my childhood days. We lived below an old railroad depot and used to play on its porches until they demoed the building. My sister and I would try to balance the rails of the track to see who could stay on the longest … Train tracks give a whole new meaning to ‘go play in traffic’. LOL. We had a blast on the tracks. To this day, I still love the trains.

    • Hi Orples…thank you for nice comment…we have had the same feeling then… it’s very interesting to know that we have the same story to share about our childhood time. ^_^ that time will not come back again…but the memory is everlasting like the railroad🙂

      • True that!🙂 I have fond memories of my early childhood and your railroad photos jostled them, it appears, so thank you for the walk down memory lane.

      • “Memory is a way of holding on to the things you love, the things you are, the things you never want to lose.” We do not remember days; we remember moments🙂

  3. itu pasti si kecil Albanie… lucunyaa….
    Seperti biasa, foto2 mas Hendra selalu bagus-bagus, ditambah cerita masa kecil yg menyentuh, jdi teringat pas kecil banyak teka-teki yg akhirnya terjawab satu per satu saat tumbuh dewasa, hehe.. Albanie kecil pasti juga sangat besar rasa ingin tahunya yah sekarang mas.. Salam yah buat Albanie.. He is so cuuuuute…;)

  4. Nice Photos and excellent poem to go with them. I too and attracted to the Rails… though in my case it’s in the blood – My Grandfather was a train driver.

    • Hi…thank you..and I’m glad you like it. Wow you should have many stories to tell then…^_^..sorry for late response…it’s a bit difficult for me lately to check my blog…

      • No problem Hendra but that is bad news for me and I am sure a lot of bloggers will agree. I do so hope things will quiet down so we can enjoy your lovely posts and photo’s again.🙂
        *hugs*

Leave a Reply

